After recent setbacks, Pakistan gears up for National T20 Cup action today
After recent setbacks, Pakistan gears up for National T20 Cup action today

LAHORE: With New Zealand and England abandoning their Pakistan tours, Pakistani cricketers and fans are gearing up for the National T20 Cup action which will kick off today in Rawalpindi.

The 18th edition of the National T20 Cup will finish in Lahore with the final to be played at the Gaddafi Stadium on October 13.

The tournament — since its inception in 2005 — has been one of the key features of Pakistan’s domestic cricket and this year will also serve as robust preparation for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021.

Statistician Mazher Arshad took a look at the statistical history of the tournament which was made available to APP.

Most successful team :

Sialkot Stallions are the most successful team in the tournament winning it on six occasions [in 2006 twice, 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011]. The next best region is Lahore who have won the title on five occasions — Lahore Lions thrice, Lahore Blues and Lahore Whites once each.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa are the defending champions as they won the final against Southern Punjab in 2020, are the third most successful region in a way that their city Peshawar has also won the National T20 twice (in 2014 and 2015).

The remaining three titles have gone to Faisalabad Wolves (2005), Karachi Blues (2016) and Northern (2019).

National T20 winners :

2005 — Faisalabad Wolves

2006 — Sialkot Stallions

2006 — Sialkot Stallions

2008 — Sialkot Stallions

2009 — Sialkot Stallions

2010 — Sialkot Stallions

2010 — Lahore Lions

2011 — Sialkot Stallions

2012 — Lahore Lions

2014 — Lahore Lions

2014 — Peshawar Panthers

2015 — Peshawar

2016 — Karachi Blues

2017 — Lahore Blues

2018 — Lahore Whites

2019 — Northern

2020 — Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.