TikTok Introduces A Feature To Protect Young Users
TikTok Introduces A Feature To Protect Young Users

TikTok has introduced new features to protect younger people and encourage them to spend less time in front of the screen.

In the video sharing app, downloads will be disabled by default for users between the ages of 13 and 15.

Similarly, when users between the ages of 16 and 17 post a video, a pop-up reminder will appear before them in which the audience will have to click on one of the options like Followers, Friends Only or Restricted to them only.

Creators of this age will also be given the option to make their videos downloadable.

TikTok has introduced a range of push notifications to reduce screen time.

Push notifications for users ages 13 to 15 will stop after 9pm, while TikTokers ages 16 to 17 will not receive notifications after 10pm.

This series of notifications will resume at 8:00 AM.

The company also said that direct messages will be disabled by default for new users between the ages of 16 and 17.

Earlier, in January 2021, TikTok tightened its privacy policy to protect older consumers.

Under this policy, the accounts of all registered users between the ages of 13 and 15 will become private by default.

Simply put, no one will be able to access their accounts, only friends.

Similarly, the setting of Suggest Your Account to Others will be by default off for users between the ages of 13 and 15.

It should be noted that TikTok is criticized for its inadequate measures to protect children on its platform.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *