October 1, 2020

Burger King ‘plant-based’ Whopper ads banned

Burger King has been banned from showing adverts suggesting its Rebel Whopper, which is cooked alongside meat and contains egg, is vegan-friendly.

The Advertising Standards Authority (ASA) said the chain’s claim that the burger is “100% Whopper, no beef” could be understood to mean it did not contain animal products.

Burger King said it had been “clear and transparent” in its marketing.

The Vegan Society said it was a “missed opportunity”.

“We communicated from the outset that the Rebel Whopper is aimed at a flexitarian audience,” the fast food chain said in a statement.

But the ASA found that Burger King’s social media posts about the Rebel Whopper gave the impression it could be eaten by vegans and vegetarians.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *