June 17, 2021

Multiple schools in WBTV viewing area announce delays, closings Friday, after severe storms sweep through

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (WBTV) – Multiple schools in the WBTV viewing area have announced closings or delays Friday, one day after dismissing students early due to the threat of severe weather and possible flooding on Thursday.

Cabarrus County Schools and Anson County Schools will be closed for students on Friday, Feb. 7.

Caldwell County Schools, Gaston County Schools, Rowan-Salisbury Schools, Kannapolis City Schools, Union County Schools, Lincoln County Schools, Rock Hill Schools, Iredell County Schools, McDowell County Schools and Watauga County Schools announced that they will operate on a two-hour delay on Friday, Feb. 7. Long Shoals Wesleyan Academy and Child Care also announced a two-hour delay.

[ CMS opts to keep students in school amid Thursday’s severe storms, saying it’s safer ]

On Thursday, Alexander County, Anson County, Burke County, Caldwell County, Catawba County, Chester County, Iredell-Statesville Schools, Kannapolis City Schools, Lancaster County, Mooresville Graded Schools, Newton-Conover Schools, Rowan-Salisbury and the entire York County School District (which includes Clover, Fort Mill, Rock Hill and York School District One) all announced early dismissal.

Tornado Warnings and Watches were issued for several parts of the WBTV viewing area Thursday morning.

STAY ALERT: Download the free WBTV First Alert Weather app for real-time updates and alerts specific to your area

[ First Alert: Heavy rain, strong storms create potential for flooding across the Carolinas today ]

With a few rounds of rain earlier this week, the ground is quite saturate so areal flooding is of great concern to those who have interests along any of our region’s riverbeds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *