June 20, 2021

SpaceX delays Crew Dragon abort test launch to Sunday due to bad weather

SpaceX postponed a critical launch escape test of its Crew Dragon astronaut taxi today (Jan. 18) due to bad weather at the mission’s launch site. The next attempt will be on Sunday, the company said.

The California-based spaceflight company was scheduled to launch its unpiloted Crew Dragon spacecraft on a used Falcon 9 rocket at 8 a.m. EST (1300 GMT) today from the historic Launch Complex 39A at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Cape Canaveral, Florida. However, bad weather at the launch site, coupled with rough seas at Crew Dragon’s recovery zone in the Atlantic Ocean, prompted the delay.

“Standing down from today’s in-flight Crew Dragon launch escape test due to sustained winds and rough seas in the recovery area,” SpaceX wrote in a mission update on Twitter. “Now targeting Sunday, January 19, with a six-hour test window opening at 8:00 a.m. EST, 13:00 UTC.”

You can watch the launch live here and on Space.com’s homepage on Sunday, courtesy of SpaceX, beginning at about 7:40 a.m. EST (1240 GMT). You can also watch the launch directly from SpaceX here, or from NASA here. A NASA TV webcast will begin at 7:45 a.m. EST (1245 GMT).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *